Personal Life

Distract Me

There are so many so called ‘distractions’ in life. I hate them! Uh! But, I don’t think it’s really right to call most of them ‘distractions’. Situations that cause us to become ‘distracted’ may be of the devil – you know, those worldly temptations that everyone faces, but just because something isn’t a ‘God-thing’ doesn’t mean it can’t become a ‘God-thing’. I don’t know if I’m making sense. Let’s see if I can rephrase this…

Distract:

1.To cause to turn away from the original focus of attention or interest; divert.

2.To pull in conflicting emotional directions; unsettle.

1 Corinthians 7:35 And this I speak for your own profit; not that I may cast a snare upon you, but for that which is comely, and that ye may attend upon the Lord without distraction.

Psalms 88:15 I am afflicted and ready to die from my youth up: while I suffer thy terrors I am distracted.

These are the only two places I’ve found so far in my Bible that have the ‘distract’ word in them.

So, yes, I do think ‘distractions’ are anything that ‘divert’ our attention or interest or obedience to God. Mostly ’emotionally’ – emotions; without those we cannot ‘feel’ love for God. In my opinion, emotions are very much valued by God. Our emotions can take us into the depths of hell – suicide; or they can give us a ride into the realms of glory when in love. The reason I’m writing about distractions and emotions is because I have been thinking perhaps I’m very much distracted from my true ‘calling’ lately. You have heard rant enough about that one But, here’s the thing. When I sat down to write, my mind immediately went to wanting to try and tell you about everything annoying and wrong that has been going on in my life. (What a joke, right?) I wanted to say “Uh! Look at all the yuck stuff that I’ve been trying to sort through!” But I am smiling at my own stupidity right now; at my own selfishness. Those ‘distractions’ of my life? All those people problems, so called ‘destiny’ disclarities (yes, made that word up), hindrances to ‘my goals’, annoyances like no money, no car, no plan, yada, yada…all those distractions, the things that make me worry and cry, pout, shrink, hide, procrastinate, overall, what they do is unsettle my relationship with my Heavenly Father (or put it on hold in some ways). But, without those things, can I possibly see and know the Goodness of God? How, without those disclarities, can I grow with Him, holding His hand the whole while? I can’t think of a time when things were ‘just dandy’ that I had a spiritual breakthrough and came closer to Him. I can’t. Not one. Can you? When you think back, can you remember any times? I think of many good times I’ve had in life, and most of them happened because or in the midst of things I might call a ‘distraction’ at some points. So, I praise God for the distractions – the things that could entice me away from Him, but in reality, do great wonders in drawing me closer to Him. At this moment, I could think of at least a dozen. And I praise Him for choices.

Leave a Reply

