Christian Missions · Compassion · Midwifery · Personal Life · Prayer · Witnessing

Knock On Wood…bang, bang, bang – But Here’s the Plan :)

god'swaymyownway

So, 10 to 1 whenever I ‘make plans’ God reveals His ways aren’t my ways and His thoughts aren’t my thoughts. I’m sure you’ve had it happen too. πŸ™‚ And for the record, I don’t mind. Really and truly, I’m just glad my Big Daddy cares that much about me to keep me from making decisions that I’ll regret. But, here I go – telling you the plan – my plan at that! – that is being held in God’s hands, not mine. Because like I said Daddy (since I know you’re reading this God), I don’t mind you revealing a different plan. So, here’s the run down on my plan for the next few years;

1. I’ll go to Village Creek Bible Camp for the summer – from May to September.

2. In September I’ll come home and find a 4-5 month job around town hopefully! 2(B). Start reading book list from the Mercy in Action midwife school.

3. From February to April go to Ellerslie Basic Leadership Training to get pumped with Eric and Leslie Ludy (whom by now you should know I truly admire and respect).

4. Again, in May go to VCBC till September as a counselor to be with the kiddos.

5. Prayerfully, go to Mercy in Action Midwife school in Idaho for the three month intensive.

And after that? Maybe Amsterdam or YWAM or motherhood! πŸ™‚ I don’t really know. Again, that’s okay. I trust my Jesus. I’m not worried – I mean, of course I am constantly begging Him for the low-down. Because who doesn’t want to know what’s gonna happen next?
So, that’s the idea. And I want you to know friends, that lately, I haven’t really been good at knowing what’s right for my life. That is to say, God has been doing things against my will. (LOL) I prayed that my Oma wouldn’t die. I prayed that God would give us a few more years with her (and I prayed this selfishly friends). I prayed that our basement wouldn’t flood anymore – that our house’s foundation would last a good while longer – and what happened? We discovered an old cistern right next to our house. Empty, but allowing more water under our foundation. I said “God, I thought I told you I didn’t want to deal with that?” lol. I’m such a dunce. I’m glad God is patient with me, cause I have a rather hard time myself! I’m a selfish, lazy little kid who doesn’t like to deal with disruptions to my plans…or to my lazying around. πŸ™‚ I’m a pretty selfish person. And He’s teaching me with all the love and purpose in the world. I get pretty upset with myself for all my ‘failures’ and ‘faults’. I throw myself a pitty party (why not add to the fire, right?) and cry about what a loser I am. But luckily, Jesus continues to bring words like this to me;

For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, saith the Lord. – Isaiah 55:8

For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, saith the Lord, thoughts of peace, and not of evil, to give you an expected end. – Jerry 29:11

For if our heart condemn us, God is greater than our heart, and knoweth all things.
Beloved, if our heart condemn us not, then have we confidence toward God. And whatsoever we ask, we receive of him, because we keep his commandments, and do those things that are pleasing in his sight. – 1st John 3:20-22

I love the words about our hearts condemning us – because my heart condemns me often. And it’s good to know God is greater than my own heart. Even when I doubt that anything can be done with this rubbish – He is greater than that doubt and those fears. Praise God! πŸ™‚

So, friends, if these plans of mine change (in direction, in timing, in proportion, in depth, or in importance) it’s okay with me. You can laugh with me when that happens. Cause it’s gonna happen a whole lot with me! πŸ™‚ And if you’re anything like me, we’ll be laughing most of our lives together. And so, no matter what happens we’re 1 up – cause a cheerful heart maketh good like medicine. πŸ™‚ Let’s just keep following Him.

Love to you all!
Em

4 thoughts on “Knock On Wood…bang, bang, bang – But Here’s the Plan :)

  1. Lovely. When we are weak He is strong in us. You are on the same wavelength as Paul, who rejoiced at tribulations, etc. You wrote this post 0 days ago… are you still rejoicing?

Leave a Reply

